At home

It is only right that my first Table for ONE in New York is breakfast at Sarabeth’s: a meal that is fast becoming the favourite part of my day, at one of the City’s culinary institutions. I first dined here four years ago, and ever since then have craved their Fluffy French Toast ($16). All this time later, the breakfast doesn’t disappoint.

Sarabeth’s is a people-watcher’s paradise. I witnessed 3 birthdays, 2 anniversaries and tens of other celebrations. I forgot for a moment where I was until the guy sitting next to me at the counter asked me how I am (as everyone does in New York), and “Where is home?”

I think a lot about what it means to be ‘home’. Almost everyone in my everyday life is on their way to, or on their way from somewhere else. As am I.

  • My childhood friend left India 20 years ago. She has a new life now but not a conversation goes by when she doesn’t reminisce about home.
  • My colleague grew up in two countries and now lives in a third. It is always interesting asking him where home is.
  • My Aussie friend hasn’t lived in his home country in nearly fifteen years and seems to finally be getting homesick.
  • My sister has had to create a life 8,000 miles from everything and everyone she has ever known. And all this time, all she has wanted to do was go home.

“Home is where your heart is.” But what happens when your heart is in several places?

A giant part of my heart is in Bombay. It rests with my mother, and my two best friends Lina and Foram. An equally large piece of my heart is in Tifton because that is where my sister lives and my heart lives with her. My heart also lives in Hyderabad; home to my father and my happiest childhood. I suppose my heart is in London too, with me :-). And when I leave New York I know I will leave a piece of my heart behind.

Where is home then?

I don’t know yet, and for now it is OK that I don’t know. Until I do, to borrow from Maya Angelou, “I long, as does every human being, to be at home wherever I find myself.”
-p

Sarabeth's on Urbanspoon

15 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee, New York, Restaurant

15 responses to “At home

  1. Elie

    I love how your posts are relating more and more to many of us!

  2. We have multiple homes. We are in the process of getting fragmented down to our atoms. Please bear with us :)

  3. If food be the fuel for life, eat on!

  4. Pingback: At home (via Table for ONE) « infinitesimalpinpricks

  5. Im extremely impressed along with your writing abilities and also with the structure for your blog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to look a nice blog like this one these days..

  6. I suggest you to put facebook likes button.

  7. really great put up, i certainly really like this web web site, keep on it

  8. This is actually the right blog for anyone who wants to learn about this topic.
    You understand so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually
    would want… HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been
    discussed for years. Great stuff, just great!

  9. We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your website provided us with valuable information
    to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole neighborhood can be thankful to you.

  10. We stumbled overr here diffterent web page and thought
    I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to exploring youyr web page again.

  11. Excellent write-up. I absolutely love this site.
    Continue the good work!

  12. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you could be a
    great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back from now on. I want to
    encourage you to continue your great posts, have a nice afternoon!

  13. I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should
    also go to see this webpage on regular basis to take updated from newest news.

  14. Good write-up. I definitely love this website. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

