Bambai se aaya mera dost

All week long I have tried, unsuccessfully, to write my next Table for ONE at Dishoom – a restaurant inspired by Bombay’s food. Each time I set out on my own the Universe sent along friends, making this post a table for three, four and five. It seems that Indian food, like the Indian spirit is meant for sharing.

I studied at Bombay’s St. Xavier’s college. The favourite days of my week were when we crossed the road to Kyani & Co., where we chatted with the owner Aflatoon Uncle about his childhood in Iran; and Bastani Café, where we would try and break at least one “rule” (see the list below) each time we were there. One of the first things I noticed while waiting for my table at Dishoom was their own list of rules, next to a copy of the Times of India, nestled between old Bollywood and Femina posters.

Dishoom’s design is a tribute to the Irani cafés of Bombay. Marble-top tables, wooden chairs, cutting chai and Bollywood music… if it wasn’t for the sexy open kitchen and less sexy hanging lights I could have sworn I was in Bombay. Each visit to the restaurant was with hardcore Bombay fans and we were not an easy bunch to please. I am so thrilled to share that Dishoom did not disappoint even once.

At last! A place in Central London that serves proper roomali roti (£1.70), lamb samosas (£3.90), perfect black daal (£4.50) and Thums Up (£2.50). It is reassuring to see that the Bombay influence is not purely cosmetic. The menu features dishes inspired by real Bombay eateries… roomali rolls (£6.50) from Bade Miyan, keema pau (£4.50) from Kyani & Co., pau bhaji (£3.90) from Chowpatty, sheekh kabab (£6.90) from Mohd Ali Road and chicken berry biryani (£7.50) from Brittania. I probably won’t order the Pau Bhaji again, nor the Boti Kabab but I have to come back for their breakfast bacon roll, cheesy naan and ice gola.

Owners Shamil, Amar and Adarsh didn’t always run restaurants. You really have to be a special kind of reckless to want to leap out of your comfort zone and commit to something that you believe in so much, that nothing else matters; least of all, logic. My convoys to Dishoom were filled with similar recklessness: a British Asian who went against a traditional family to create beautiful clothes, a gorgeous man who is a magical garden-whisperer, a childhood friend who was born to save lives…

A friend said I was born to have babies, a parent is convinced I was born to write, a boss hopes I was born to be a marketing genius… But I’ve never had that desire to do the one thing I was born to do. Nor did I fortunately ever have to make that choice. I gleefully flow from one adventure to the next in the quest for … well, nothing I suppose. And this has always been more than enough, until recently.

Last week at work I was flung out of my comfort zone and into a cauldron of new possibilities. On any other day I would have leaped for joy. I was surprised, when I finally recognised that what I was feeling was not excitement, but fear. Am I scared because I think I can’t do this, or because I finally feel the need to know what I was born to do… and this isn’t it?

-p

15 Comments

Filed under Bombay, Brunch, Cafe, Design, Indian, London, Open kitchen

15 responses to “Bambai se aaya mera dost

  1. Padmini

    You do it so well – the smooth transition from food to deep thought!
    You were born to write, my dear – don’t you know it yet? :)
    M

  2. Ah, Kayani’s mutton sandwich is still to die for. but incredibly grotty the place has gotten – and my grot threshold is quite high, and yet i quailed a bit this time at the uniforms of the waiters and the overall grime. Please get your Mum to buy you a copy of the Xavier’s book – spectacular pics by David deSouza and text by Shabnam Minwala. I am gifting it to several alumni friends (i’m not from the place, I’m from Fergusson College – or Phurrrgyuusunn as we say it here).

  3. Grishma

    Super Super Super……………You are going to be my favourite author for sure!!

  4. Jaya

    I hear you, Pooja…so clearly.

    Whatever it is you’ve landed yourself in, I’m sure you can do it. And if you feel the need to figure out something else, then here I am cheering luck and smiles for you…

  5. Deepika

    I’m going to Dishoom ‘finally’ tonite! Really looking forward to it and I’m sure its gonna be yum yum all the way! I enjoy your writing! Keep it up girlie! :)

  6. Pingback: Nothing wrong with naughtiness | Table for ONE

  7. Pingback: Slice of life | Table for ONE

  8. Unfortunately I did not have a good experience at Dishoom….I visited on a Thursday night and it was packed, the service was aweful and the waiter rude. I complained on Twitter and got offered a bottle of Prosecco next time I visit…not nearly enough to convince me to go back!
    Shame, cause I liked the food (albeit the small portion…) and the decor. My Mumbai-born boyfriend also liked the food but he’s not keen on going back… :(

  9. Pingback: Dishoom | mondomulia

  10. Great review, but I do wasnt throughly crazed by my experience, maybe i need to go for a dinner rather than brekkie or lunch?

  11. Pingback: 2012. Cheers | Table for ONE

Leave a Reply

