Dock Kitchen. A find

A TV show I watched recently reminded me of something I studied at school. That no matter where we are in the Northern Hemisphere, if we face Polaris we face north. So we always know where we are.

But there are other ways of getting lost. Lost in a job that takes you far away from your dreams. Lost in a relationship that changes you into a person you don’t recognise. Lost, because sometimes it is safer to hide; especially from yourself. Less and less now, but I still find myself lost sometimes.  This time I didn’t know where to look. So I put on my favourite shoes, grabbed my favourite dining companion, and asked him to choose a restaurant for us to go to.

It’s not like me to let TM decide where we eat. Don’t get me wrong, TM is absolutely one of my favourite people in this world, but he isn’t exactly a curious diner. A creature of habit I half expected TM to choose Pizza East. Again. Boy was I wrong!

Dock Kitchen was exactly where I needed to be to unhide from myself. Brand new to me, with no past dining drama, no taste memories, and plenty of sunshine, Dock Kitchen’s home in a converted Victorian Wharf building is a charming retreat in the heart of town. The sunshine that bathed the restaurant’s open kitchen helps a lot, but I think Dock Kitchen has enough personality to even make it special on a dreary day.

After some table tango we found ourselves on the terrace between a dog, someone I can bet is on TV, and a quiet baby. (Also fortunately far away from the ditsy waitress who clearly didn’t know how anything on the menu was prepared). None of that mattered though, once the food arrived.

Prosecco Frizzante (£6.50) and and courgette and aubergine fritters drizzled with honey and chilli (£7) for TM; and a gorgeous Lammershoek  (£7.50) and chicken livers cooked in pomegranate molasses with a lavash bread (£7.50) for me. I love the Persian zeal in this week’s menu, but you cannot put Stevie Parle’s food in a box; with a CV that lists River Café, Petersham Nurseries, and Moro that’s no surprise. But its more than that… I can’t quite put my finger on it just yet, but its more than that.

And then TM chose the lamb biryani (for two at £17.50 each). It looked beautiful. When we broke the dough seal, the saffron floated out of the earthen pot – beautiful. And once we were ready to dig into the prettiness, it tasted… beautiful.

There is so much to come back for. To feed the ducks in the canal, try the cocktails in the Kitchenette Bar, stare longingly at the beautiful things in Tom Dixon’s shop on the lower floor; and collect the piece of me I left behind that day.

-p
Dock Kitchen on Urbanspoon

6 Comments

Filed under Brunch, Design, Indian, London, Mediterranean, Open kitchen, Outdoor dining, Wine

6 responses to “Dock Kitchen. A find

  1. dinesh raheja

    I find your style extremely chatty and warm, limned with just the right dose of acerbic humor and generous dollops of praise. Sumptuous fare. Dinesh Raheja

  2. Padmini Mirchandani

    Looks scrumptious! For my next trip :)

  3. loved the ending :)…and do you sneak in bits about dogs sitting in restaurants just to make us sitting here burn to envious crisps?

  4. jignasa Shah

    Arrey wah must visit someday!!the biryani sounds delicious.

  5. Grish

    Beautiful……looking forward to going with you.Thank You for sharing.

  6. You have no idea how much I enjoy your writing. I wouldn’t patronise you with saying its good. But It cuts through. Its got soul. I will say, however, that if you ever found the strength to pursue your true calling, you would be in a wonderful place that would always feel like home. There, I am done patronising you. Until the next one, soldier.

Leave a Reply

