Mayur. Dialling back

Sometimes, I have to give up on my version of things. I have to accept that I can’t feel enough feeling for the story to go on. That in this life, at this exact moment, the universe needs to arrange things differently. Sometimes I have to accept defeat.

And on days like this, when I feel sorry that the world is no longer revolving around my desires, I need to dial back to a simpler time; and if that becomes difficult, then at least to a simpler place that reminds me how uncomplicated life can be if I allow it.

Mayur, in Bombay’s suburbs, is a simple place. I was introduced to this rare, if not only, Udupi restaurant in the city that also has a permit room, by my London family Laxmi and Naman. It’s where a photograph of Lord Venkateswara shares shelf space with bottles of Red Label; where a former policeman plays his collection of Bismillah Khan cassettes over lunch; and where diamond store owners come to unwind (read: drink many drinks) at the end of the day before vegetarian dinners with their wives.

IMG_5733Mayur s also where a waiter was impressed that I only wanted ice with my whisky (Rs. 350 for a single shot of Black Dog), and served me the second best chilli cheese toast (Rs. 120) in town. This one was made with Amul cheese and lashings of garlic, and has magical powers to slow life down to just the one emotion you experience as you bite into a simple piece of toast.

IMG_4824Mayur is also where I am reminded that “If the person you are talking to doesn’t appear to be listening, be patient. It may simply be that he has a small piece of fluff in his ear.” That chap Winnie the Pooh knew how to dial back.

-p

Mayur Restaurant & Permit Room, Gautam Apartments, Juhu Road, Santacruz (W), Mumbai – 400054, +91 (22) 2649-0654.

4 Comments

Filed under Bar, Bar food, Bombay, Whisky

4 responses to “Mayur. Dialling back

  1. Madison Cox

    I want more of these posts! Love from Marrakech M

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. He so needs a Johnson’s ear bud!

  3. A strong undercurrent in your posts, that has nothing to do with the food and drink, fascinates me: Your battle to be in control, or more correctly, a tempestuous attempt to regain control lost, and the growing awareness and despair that in fact, with it, a fervently held desire is ebbing away. You’re a gifted writer (and I am a fan) so I wonder then if you will ever be so brave to hang on to that emotion, and write about love and longing lost, which I predict will be your most-powerful prose yet. And one that may just deliver your salvation. Keep it coming, Vir.

  4. Vas

    dear pooja,
    somehow i am hoping that not many people who read your provocative
    blog will actually make the effort of going to mayur. know what i mean?
    sigh.
    but cheers to your slow-cooked words and zeal for zaika!
    vas

Leave a Reply

